CRUSHES

She heard footsteps coming down the stairs and she closed her eyes with the pretense of sleeping.

“Hey, you awake?”

Her eyes flew open and she blinked in confusion as he came into her sight.”What on earth are you doing?”

“Sorry,”he said, not sounding sorry at all.”I was bored.”

“So you come downstairs at-“she looked up at the red numbers blinking a few feet away from her.”-at 2 in the bloody morning to talk to me ’cause you’re bored.”

“Basically.”

“Well then.”she sat up on the mattress that he had so graciously dumped on the ground earlier that night, telling her to ‘clean it up and all that jazz’. He pushed her feet to the side before sitting down and leaning against the wall that the mattress was pushed against. She was visiting her hometown and was crashing at her old friend who she hadn’t talked to in years’ house until she was going back to LA in a couple of days. They’d stayed out of touch since she was 18 and went to college, around ten years ago.The only reason she was even staying here was because there was no room at her parents’ house, it being the holidays.

“So..how’s LA?”

“It’s fine..how’s it here?”

“Same old, same old.”

“Yeah? what’re you doing right now?”

“Not much.”

“How on earth is starting a Taekwando school not much?”

“Eh.”

“Honestly, I am, like, really impressed. Never thought a dumbass like you’d get anywhere in life.”

He playfully shoved her and she shoved him back, grinniNg at how easily they’d settled back into their pattern.

Anyway, what’re you doing?”

“I’m a youtuber..?”

“That’s nice..”

“You have no clue what a youtuber is, do you?”

“Not a clue.”

“I didn’t expect anything else.”

“Haha, you’re a riot. 20 questions?”

“What are we? 12?”

“Fine, we won’t play.”

“First crush?”

“How immature yet completely expected from you.”

She stuck her tongue out at him and he chuckled.”Well, to be honest, it was you.”

Her eyes widened to a comical extent and she gaped at him.”Wait, what.”

“Yeah, honestly how did you not know?”

“Are you kiddng?”

“I was so obvious about it, oh my God.”

She stared at him, her face filled with surprise and confusion.”You’re not kidding?”

“Um.”

“Holy shit you had a crush on me. You had a crush on me.”

“Thanks for repeating what I just said.”

“My mind is blowing up right now.”

“honestly, I literally kissed you on the cheek so many times.”

“I THOUGHT THEY WERE FRIENDLY.”

“WHEN ARE CHEEK KISSES EVER JUST PLATONIC?”

“Now I feel really weird. ”

“Yeah, sorry.”

“But not really ’cause I kinda had a crush on you too.”

“WAIT,  WHAT?”

“Yeah, honestly how did you not know?”she mimicked him and his lips curled up.

She looked at him and grinned.

 

